Tattoo consent form laws by state
Minimum age, parental consent rules, and how long to keep signed consent forms in all 50 states, with the statute for each and its source.
Every state sets its own rule on who can be tattooed and what paperwork the shop must keep, and the rules fall into three groups: states that ban tattooing anyone under 18 regardless of consent, states that allow it when a parent or guardian is present and signs, and states that require the consent to be notarized. Record retention, where a state sets it, runs from two to seven years.
This page was compiled on September 2, 2026 from state statutes and health department pages. Each state entry names its source and says whether we read the primary text or a secondary summary. Laws change and local health districts add their own rules, so treat this as a map to the right statute, not as legal advice, and confirm with your state or county board before you rely on a specific number.
Turbo Link keeps the consent form and the deposit in the same client record: the client signs on a phone before the session, the signed form is stored on the record, and the deposit invoice sits next to it. That does not change what your state requires, but it does mean you will have the form when an inspector asks for it. The deposit policy guide covers the money side.
Every state at a glance
Under 18 gives the short version of the minor rule. Records shows the retention period where a state sets one. Click a state for the full entry and the statute.
| State | Under 18 | Records kept | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | A minor can be tattooed with prior written informed consent of a parent or guardian, signed in the… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Alaska | No minor can be tattooed even with parental consent. Body piercing on a minor is allowed only with prior… | For body piercing on a minor, the person performing the… | Primary source |
| Arizona | A person age 14 to 17 can be tattooed or pierced if a parent or legal guardian is physically present… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Arkansas | A minor age 16 or 17 can receive a tattoo or permanent cosmetics with written consent of a parent or guardian. | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| California | A minor cannot be tattooed, branded, or given permanent cosmetics even with parental consent. A minor can… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Colorado | A minor age 16 or 17 can be tattooed if a parent or legal guardian gives written consent in person and is… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Connecticut | A minor can be tattooed with the written consent and presence of a parent or guardian. The tattoo… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Delaware | A minor can be tattooed, branded, or pierced with prior written, notarized consent of a parent over 18 or… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Florida | A minor age 16 or 17 can be tattooed only after the artist receives a notarized consent form from a parent… | Secondary source states records, including minor consent… | Secondary source only |
| Georgia | A minor cannot be tattooed under any circumstance, except by a licensed physician or osteopath, or a… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Hawaii | Tattooing under 14 is banned outright. A minor age 14 to 17 may be tattooed only with written parent or… | The shop must keep the signed parent or guardian consent… | Secondary source only |
| Idaho | Tattooing, branding, or body piercing under age 14 is banned outright. A minor age 14 to 17 may be… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Illinois | Tattooing anyone under 18 is banned outright, and no parent or guardian consent can override that ban… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| Indiana | A minor may be tattooed or body pierced only if a parent or legal guardian is physically present at the… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Iowa | Iowa bans tattooing anyone under 18 outright. Parental or guardian consent does not create an exception;… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Kansas | A minor under 18 may be tattooed, cosmetically tattooed, or body pierced only with the prior written and… | The written permission, and a copy of guardianship letters… | Primary source |
| Kentucky | A minor must be at least 16, and a custodial parent or legal guardian must give consent in a written,… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Louisiana | A minor under 18 may be tattooed or body pierced only with the consent of an accompanying parent or tutor… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Maine | Maine bans tattooing anyone under 18 outright, with no parental consent exception. A licensed practitioner… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Maryland | A person under 18 may be tattooed if a parent or guardian provides signed written consent, under the… | The consent document, along with the client’s name, artist… | Secondary source only |
| Massachusetts | No tattoo may be performed on anyone under 18, even with parent or guardian consent. Body piercing, other… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| Michigan | A minor may be tattooed, branded, or pierced only with prior written informed consent from a parent or… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| Minnesota | Tattooing anyone under 18 is a gross misdemeanor regardless of parental or guardian consent. Some… | Establishments must keep procedure records, including… | Primary source |
| Mississippi | It is unlawful to tattoo anyone under 18 in Mississippi, and the statute contains no parental or guardian… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| Missouri | A minor may be tattooed, branded, or pierced only with the parent or legal guardian’s prior written… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Montana | A person under 18 may be tattooed only with the explicit in-person consent of a parent or legal guardian,… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| Nebraska | Body art on anyone under 18 requires the prior written consent of a parent or court-appointed guardian,… | The person performing the body art must keep a copy of the… | Primary source |
| Nevada | No tattoo may be performed on anyone under 14 unless supervised by a medical professional. For a person 14… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| New Hampshire | Branding and tattooing a person under 18 is prohibited outright, with no parental consent exception. Body… | Records must be kept for a minimum of 7 years. | Secondary source only |
| New Jersey | It is illegal to tattoo anyone under 18 in New Jersey even with parental consent. Body piercing of a minor… | Written parental consent for a minor’s piercing must be… | Secondary source only |
| New Mexico | A minor under 18 may be tattooed if a parent or legal guardian personally delivers written consent to the… | Release and consent records must be kept for at least three… | Secondary source only |
| New York | New York does not allow tattooing of anyone under 18 for any reason, including with parental consent. This… | Client consent and procedure records must generally be kept… | Secondary source only |
| North Carolina | North Carolina does not allow any exception for parental or guardian consent. Tattooing anyone under 18 is… | Retrievable client records must be kept by the tattoo… | Secondary source only |
| North Dakota | A minor as young as 16 may be tattooed if a parent or legal guardian is present for the entire procedure,… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| Ohio | A parent, guardian, or custodian may consent for a minor under 18 only by appearing in person at the shop… | Records of each body art procedure must be kept for at… | Primary source |
| Oklahoma | Oklahoma does not allow tattooing of anyone under 18, even with parental consent. The parental consent… | Signed consent forms and client procedure records must be… | Primary source |
| Oregon | Oregon does not allow tattooing of a minor under 18 even with parental or guardian consent. The only… | Records must be kept at the facility for 90 days, and older… | Primary source |
| Pennsylvania | A minor under 18 may be tattooed only if a parent or guardian gives consent in person at the shop at the… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| Rhode Island | A minor aged 16 or 17 may be tattooed with written, notarized consent from a parent or legal guardian that… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
| South Carolina | South Carolina does not allow tattooing of anyone under 18, even with parental or guardian consent… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| South Dakota | A minor can be tattooed only if a parent or guardian signs a written consent form. | Patron records, including consent forms, must be kept on… | Primary source |
| Tennessee | Tennessee does not allow new decorative tattoos for minors even with parental consent. A minor age 16 or… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Texas | A minor cannot get a new tattoo with parental consent. The only exception is covering an existing… | Shops must keep a permanent record of each client for a… | Primary source |
| Utah | A minor can be tattooed if a parent or guardian is present for the entire procedure, shows proof of… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Vermont | A tattoo artist cannot tattoo a minor without the written consent of a parent or guardian. | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Virginia | A minor can be tattooed for hire if a parent or guardian is present, or when a licensed medical… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Washington | Washington does not allow parental consent to override the ban. No one under 18 may be tattooed,… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| West Virginia | A minor can be tattooed if a parent or guardian gives written consent, executed in person at the studio at… | Written consents and required records must be kept on file… | Primary source |
| Wisconsin | Wisconsin does not allow parental consent for a tattoo on a minor. The only exception is a tattoo… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Primary source |
| Wyoming | A minor can be tattooed only with the consent of a parent or legal guardian, who must be present at the… | Not specified in sources reviewed | Secondary source only |
Where a row says “not specified in sources reviewed,” the requirement may still exist in a health department rule we did not reach. The safe default is to keep every signed form for at least seven years.
Alabama
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 19 (Alabama defines minor as under 19 for this chapter)
Minors: A minor can be tattooed with prior written informed consent of a parent or guardian, signed in the presence of the tattoo artist or the artist’s employee or agent.
Written consent for adults: The statute requires written informed consent for minors. Sources found do not confirm a separate statutory written consent mandate for adults.
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Alabama Department of Public Health, Bureau of Environmental Services
Citation: Ala. Code Section 22-17A-2 (source). Primary source.
Alaska
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18 for tattooing (tattooing a minor is barred outright, with no parental consent exception)
Minors: No minor can be tattooed even with parental consent. Body piercing on a minor is allowed only with prior written parental or guardian permission and the parent or guardian present during the procedure.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found for tattooing of adults specifically
Records: For body piercing on a minor, the person performing the piercing must keep the written permission on file for at least three years.
Who regulates it: Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
Citation: Alaska Stat. Section 08.13.217 (source). Primary source.
Arizona
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A person age 14 to 17 can be tattooed or pierced if a parent or legal guardian is physically present during the procedure.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: No single statewide licensing board; regulated under the Arizona Revised Statutes criminal code, enforced locally
Citation: Ariz. Rev. Stat. Section 13-3721 (source). Primary source.
Arkansas
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 16 for most body art. Anyone under 16 cannot be tattooed regardless of consent, except for repigmentation authorized by a physician. Nipple, genital, and branding procedures require the client to be 18 regardless of consent.
Minors: A minor age 16 or 17 can receive a tattoo or permanent cosmetics with written consent of a parent or guardian.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Arkansas Department of Health
Citation: Ark. Code Ann. Section 20-27-1502 (source). Primary source.
California
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18 for tattoos, permanent cosmetics, and branding, with no parental consent exception at any age below 18.
Minors: A minor cannot be tattooed, branded, or given permanent cosmetics even with parental consent. A minor can receive body piercing (except nipple or genital piercing) only in the presence of a parent or guardian, and the facility may still refuse.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found from the statute text reviewed, though the Safe Body Art Act generally requires client record keeping by licensed facilities
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: California Department of Public Health, enforced through local environmental health departments, under the Safe Body Art Act
Citation: Cal. Health and Safety Code Section 119300 et seq. (Safe Body Art Act), including Section 119302 (source). Primary source.
Colorado
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 16, and anyone under 16 cannot be tattooed under any circumstance.
Minors: A minor age 16 or 17 can be tattooed if a parent or legal guardian gives written consent in person and is present for the procedure.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, with licensing administered by local county or city health departments
Citation: Colo. Rev. Stat. Section 25-4-2103 (source). Primary source.
Connecticut
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor can be tattooed with the written consent and presence of a parent or guardian. The tattoo technician must also obtain photo identification of the parent or guardian.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Connecticut Department of Public Health
Citation: Conn. Gen. Stat. Section 19a-92a and related tattoo licensing statutes in Chapter 387a (Section 20-266n et seq.) (source). Primary source.
Delaware
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18 (unemancipated minor)
Minors: A minor can be tattooed, branded, or pierced with prior written, notarized consent of a parent over 18 or legal guardian, for that specific procedure. A shop that does not normally serve minors is not required to do so even with consent.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Delaware Division of Public Health
Citation: Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, Section 1114 (source). Primary source.
Florida
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18, though tattooing a child under 16 is barred outright except for medical or dental purposes by a licensed physician or dentist.
Minors: A minor age 16 or 17 can be tattooed only after the artist receives a notarized consent form from a parent or legal guardian, with proof of the relationship, in the format the department prescribes.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found as a standalone adult requirement, though the tattoo establishment rules require client record keeping
Records: Secondary source states records, including minor consent forms, must be kept at least two years for temporary tattoo events under the establishment rules; the primary retention duration for permanent shop records was not confirmed in the sources read.
Who regulates it: Florida Department of Health
Citation: Fla. Stat. Section 381.00787, with rules in Fla. Admin. Code Chapter 64E-28 (source). Secondary source only.
Georgia
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18, and tattooing anyone under 18 is barred outright with no parental consent exception.
Minors: A minor cannot be tattooed under any circumstance, except by a licensed physician or osteopath, or a technician under that person’s direct supervision, for medical or cosmetic purposes.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Georgia Department of Public Health
Citation: Ga. Code Ann. Section 16-5-71 (source). Primary source.
Hawaii
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Tattooing under 14 is banned outright. A minor age 14 to 17 may be tattooed only with written parent or guardian consent, and the parent or guardian must be present.
Written consent for adults: The rule requires written consent for minors. Sources found do not specify a separate written informed consent mandate for adult clients.
Records: The shop must keep the signed parent or guardian consent form on file. A specific retention period in years was not stated in sources found.
Who regulates it: Hawaii Department of Health, Sanitation Branch
Citation: Hawaii Administrative Rules Title 11, Chapter 17, section 11-17-7 (source). Secondary source only.
Idaho
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Tattooing, branding, or body piercing under age 14 is banned outright. A minor age 14 to 17 may be tattooed with prior written informed consent from a parent or legal guardian, signed in the presence of the person performing the procedure or that person’s employee or agent.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found for adult clients specifically.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Citation: Idaho Code section 18-1523 (source). Primary source.
Illinois
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Tattooing anyone under 18 is banned outright, and no parent or guardian consent can override that ban. Body piercing of a minor is allowed only if a parent or legal guardian signs a consent form in the presence of the operator, with government-issued photo ID confirming the birth date.
Written consent for adults: Sources found describe consent requirements for minors but do not state a separate written informed consent mandate for adult tattoo clients.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Illinois Department of Public Health
Citation: 720 ILCS 5/12C-35 (tattooing a minor); Tattoo and Body Piercing Establishment Registration Act, 410 ILCS 54 (source). Secondary source only.
Indiana
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor may be tattooed or body pierced only if a parent or legal guardian is physically present at the time of the procedure and gives written permission on the spot.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found for adult clients specifically.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Indiana Department of Health
Citation: Indiana Code section 35-45-21-4 (source). Primary source.
Iowa
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Iowa bans tattooing anyone under 18 outright. Parental or guardian consent does not create an exception; the client must be an adult.
Written consent for adults: Sources found do not state a separate written informed consent mandate for adult clients beyond the age-verification requirement.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing
Citation: Iowa Code section 10A.531 (formerly cited as section 135.37) (source). Primary source.
Kansas
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor under 18 may be tattooed, cosmetically tattooed, or body pierced only with the prior written and notarized consent of a parent or court-appointed guardian, and that parent or guardian must be present during the procedure.
Written consent for adults: Sources found describe the notarized consent rule for minors but do not state a separate written informed consent mandate for adult clients.
Records: The written permission, and a copy of guardianship letters when a guardian consents, must be kept by the person performing the procedure for five years.
Who regulates it: Kansas Board of Cosmetology
Citation: Kansas Statutes Annotated section 65-1953 (source). Primary source.
Kentucky
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor must be at least 16, and a custodial parent or legal guardian must give consent in a written, notarized statement bearing an official notary seal before a tattoo procedure.
Written consent for adults: Sources found describe the notarized consent rule for minors but do not state a separate written informed consent mandate for adult clients.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Department for Public Health, Body Art Section
Citation: Kentucky Revised Statutes section 211.760; Kentucky Administrative Regulations Title 902, Chapter 45, Regulation 065 (source). Primary source.
Louisiana
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor under 18 may be tattooed or body pierced only with the consent of an accompanying parent or tutor. For body piercing by a business entity, consent from a parent or legal custodian is required.
Written consent for adults: Sources found do not state a separate written informed consent mandate for adult clients under this statute; state administrative rules for body art establishments may impose one but that detail was not confirmed.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Louisiana Department of Health
Citation: Louisiana Revised Statutes section 14:93.2 (source). Primary source.
Maine
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Maine bans tattooing anyone under 18 outright, with no parental consent exception. A licensed practitioner of the healing arts acting within their medical practice is exempt from the chapter.
Written consent for adults: Sources found do not state a separate written informed consent mandate for adult clients.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Citation: Maine Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapter 63, section 4203 (source). Primary source.
Maryland
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A person under 18 may be tattooed if a parent or guardian provides signed written consent, under the state’s body art regulations.
Written consent for adults: Yes. The person performing a skin-penetrating body adornment procedure must disclose the risks and obtain the client’s written consent before the procedure.
Records: The consent document, along with the client’s name, artist name, date, and description of the procedure, must be kept on file for three years.
Who regulates it: Maryland Department of Health
Citation: Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.06.01.06 (source). Secondary source only.
Massachusetts
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: No tattoo may be performed on anyone under 18, even with parent or guardian consent. Body piercing, other than genital piercing, is allowed under 18 if a parent or guardian is present in person.
Written consent for adults: Local body art regulations, modeled on the state template, require a signed informed consent form for every client before a procedure.
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, enforced through local boards of health
Citation: 105 CMR 200.000, State Sanitary Code Chapter XVI (Body Art); local board of health body art regulations (source). Secondary source only.
Michigan
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor may be tattooed, branded, or pierced only with prior written informed consent from a parent or legal guardian, executed in person before the licensee or the licensee’s employee or agent, with the minor’s birth certificate or proof of guardianship shown. Nipple or genital procedures on a minor are never allowed, even with consent.
Written consent for adults: The statute requires written informed consent for minors; adult clients complete the state’s standard body art client record and consent form used by licensed facilities.
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS), Body Art Licensing Program
Citation: Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) 333.13102, Public Health Code, Act 368 of 1978, Part 131 (Body Art Facilities) (source). Secondary source only.
Minnesota
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Tattooing anyone under 18 is a gross misdemeanor regardless of parental or guardian consent. Some piercings are allowed under 18 with a parent or guardian present in person and signing a consent form, but nipple, genital, and several other procedures are barred under 18 even with consent.
Written consent for adults: Clients must sign a consent form before any body art procedure disclosing that a tattoo is permanent and removal may cause scarring.
Records: Establishments must keep procedure records, including consent and identification documentation, for three years.
Who regulates it: Minnesota Department of Health, Body Art Technician Program
Citation: Minnesota Statutes section 146B.07 (source). Primary source.
Mississippi
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: It is unlawful to tattoo anyone under 18 in Mississippi, and the statute contains no parental or guardian consent exception. The only stated exception is for licensed physicians performing their professional duties.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Mississippi State Department of Health
Citation: Mississippi Code section 73-61-1 (source). Secondary source only.
Missouri
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor may be tattooed, branded, or pierced only with the parent or legal guardian’s prior written informed consent, executed in person before the practitioner or the practitioner’s employee or agent.
Written consent for adults: The statute requires written informed consent for minors; it does not state a separate written consent mandate for adult clients.
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (tattoo, body piercing, and branding licensing)
Citation: Revised Statutes of Missouri (RSMo) section 324.520 (source). Primary source.
Montana
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A person under 18 may be tattooed only with the explicit in-person consent of a parent or legal guardian, who must sign the consent form; a driver’s license or other ID alone does not establish that relationship.
Written consent for adults: State administrative rules require every client to sign a consent form describing potential complications before any tattoo or piercing procedure.
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS)
Citation: Montana Code Annotated 45-5-623; Administrative Rules of Montana, Title 37, chapter 112, subchapter 1 (rules 37.112.144 and 37.112.158) (source). Secondary source only.
Nebraska
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Body art on anyone under 18 requires the prior written consent of a parent or court-appointed guardian, who must be present during the procedure.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: The person performing the body art must keep a copy of the minor’s consent for five years.
Who regulates it: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
Citation: Nebraska Revised Statutes section 38-10,165 (source). Primary source.
Nevada
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: No tattoo may be performed on anyone under 14 unless supervised by a medical professional. For a person 14 to 17, a tattoo requires the written consent and government-issued photo identification of a parent or guardian, who must be present in person during the procedure, unless the minor is legally emancipated.
Written consent for adults: Local health district regulations, which implement the statewide sanitation code, require signed patron consent as part of the client paperwork for every procedure.
Records: not specified in sources found
Who regulates it: Nevada State Board of Health and local health districts (for example, Southern Nevada Health District), which administer Nevada Administrative Code chapter 444
Citation: Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) chapter 444, invasive body decoration establishment provisions; Southern Nevada Health District regulations, Section 7 (Patrons) (source). Secondary source only.
New Hampshire
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Branding and tattooing a person under 18 is prohibited outright, with no parental consent exception. Body piercing under 18 is allowed only if a parent or legal guardian is physically present, shows proof of that status, and signs a document naming the piercing location.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: Records must be kept for a minimum of 7 years.
Who regulates it: New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification, Board of Body Art Practitioners
Citation: New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated (RSA) 314-A:8 (source). Secondary source only.
New Jersey
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: It is illegal to tattoo anyone under 18 in New Jersey even with parental consent. Body piercing of a minor is allowed with the written permission of a parent, legal guardian, or a person standing in place of a parent.
Written consent for adults: not specified in sources found
Records: Written parental consent for a minor’s piercing must be kept on file for at least four years from the minor’s 18th birthday.
Who regulates it: New Jersey Department of Health, local health departments (body art establishment licensing)
Citation: New Jersey Statutes Annotated (N.J.S.A.) 2C:40-21 (source). Secondary source only.
New Mexico
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor under 18 may be tattooed if a parent or legal guardian personally delivers written consent to the shop with photo ID, and consent need not be notarized if the parent or guardian stays present for the procedure.
Written consent for adults: Yes, adults must sign a release or consent form before the procedure.
Records: Release and consent records must be kept for at least three years, per NMAC 16.36.5.11.
Who regulates it: New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department, Body Art Practitioners program
Citation: 16.36.5 NMAC and 16.36.9 NMAC (New Mexico Administrative Code, Body Art Practices) (source). Secondary source only.
New York
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: New York does not allow tattooing of anyone under 18 for any reason, including with parental consent. This differs from body piercing, which does allow parental written consent for minors.
Written consent for adults: Yes, each client must sign a consent form before the tattoo that includes name, address, age, and the date of the procedure.
Records: Client consent and procedure records must generally be kept for at least one year; some county rules extend this further.
Who regulates it: New York State Department of Health, Body Art program
Citation: New York Public Health Law Article 4-A and New York Penal Law Section 260.21 (tattooing a minor) (source). Secondary source only.
North Carolina
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: North Carolina does not allow any exception for parental or guardian consent. Tattooing anyone under 18 is unlawful regardless of consent.
Written consent for adults: Yes, the client’s name, address, phone number, date of birth, and signature must be recorded or verified before the procedure.
Records: Retrievable client records must be kept by the tattoo artist for a minimum of two years.
Who regulates it: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Environmental Health Section, enforced through local county health departments
Citation: North Carolina General Statutes Section 14-400 and 15A NCAC 18A .3200 (Rules Governing Tattooing) (source). Secondary source only.
North Dakota
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor as young as 16 may be tattooed if a parent or legal guardian is present for the entire procedure, gives written consent, and both parties show legal photo identification. A licensed health care professional acting in their scope of practice is exempt from this rule.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Tattoo and Body Art Establishments program
Citation: North Dakota Century Code Section 12.1-31-13 (tattooing and piercing of minors) and North Dakota Administrative Code Article 33-41 (source). Secondary source only.
Ohio
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A parent, guardian, or custodian may consent for a minor under 18 only by appearing in person at the shop at the time of the procedure and signing a document the shop provides that explains how the procedure will be done and how to care for the area afterward. There is no notarized-only or mail-in option.
Written consent for adults: The statute itself does not require a separate adult informed-consent form, but Ohio Administrative Code 3701-9 body art sanitation rules require the shop to follow additional recordkeeping and safety requirements for all clients.
Records: Records of each body art procedure must be kept for at least two years (OAC 3701-9-04(W), read directly on September 2, 2026).
Who regulates it: Ohio Department of Health, in partnership with local health districts that license and inspect body art facilities
Citation: Ohio Revised Code Sections 3730.06 and 3730.07, and Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 3701-9 (source). Primary source.
Oklahoma
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Oklahoma does not allow tattooing of anyone under 18, even with parental consent. The parental consent exception in Oklahoma law applies only to body piercing, not tattooing.
Written consent for adults: Yes, the client must sign a consent form listing the establishment’s name and address, the client’s name, date of birth, and address, the procedure date and location on the body, the artist’s name, license number, and signature, and a photocopy of the client’s government-issued photo ID.
Records: Signed consent forms and client procedure records must be kept confidential and retained for three years.
Who regulates it: Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Services
Citation: Oklahoma Statutes Title 21 Section 842.1 and Oklahoma Administrative Code Title 310, Chapter 233 (Body Piercing and Tattooing) (source). Primary source.
Oregon
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Oregon does not allow tattooing of a minor under 18 even with parental or guardian consent. The only exception is for medical reasons authorized or prescribed by a physician.
Written consent for adults: Yes, the licensee must give the client information verbally and in writing, including aftercare instructions, and obtain the client’s signature confirming they received and understood it.
Records: Records must be kept at the facility for 90 days, and older records must still be produced to the state within seven days of a request. Overall, records must be retained for a minimum of three years and may be stored electronically.
Who regulates it: Oregon Health Authority, Tattoo and Body Piercing Licensing program
Citation: Oregon Administrative Rules 331-915-0065 (Tattoo Practice Standards and Prohibitions) and 331-915-0085 (Client Records and Information for Tattooing) (source). Primary source.
Pennsylvania
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor under 18 may be tattooed only if a parent or guardian gives consent in person at the shop at the time of the tattooing and is present for the procedure. The shop must see the parent or guardian’s photo ID and confirm the relationship to the minor.
Written consent for adults: Pennsylvania has no single statewide tattoo license or consent-form statute. Because regulation is local option, individual cities and counties such as Philadelphia and Allegheny set their own consent form requirements.
Records: Not specified in sources found; retention periods vary by local jurisdiction since Pennsylvania has no statewide body art licensing law.
Citation: 18 Pa. Consolidated Statutes Section 6311 (Tattooing and body piercing) (source). Secondary source only.
Rhode Island
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor aged 16 or 17 may be tattooed with written, notarized consent from a parent or legal guardian that names the minor, the parent or guardian, the tattoo design, and the date of consent. For a medical-purpose tattoo, the parent or guardian must also be present, both must show government photo ID, and the artist must be state licensed.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found beyond the minor-specific notarized consent requirements.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Rhode Island Department of Health, Tattoo Artist and Tattoo Parlor registration program
Citation: Rhode Island General Laws Section 11-9-15 (Tattooing of minors) and 216-RICR-40-10-15 (Tattoo Artists and Tattoo Parlors) (source). Secondary source only.
South Carolina
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: South Carolina does not allow tattooing of anyone under 18, even with parental or guardian consent. Neither the minor nor the parent or guardian is subject to punishment under the statute, but the artist who performs it is.
Written consent for adults: Yes, the artist must verify the client is at least 18 using picture identification, and the facility must inform the client of risks and adverse effects, with the client choosing in writing to receive the procedure.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: South Carolina Department of Public Health, Tattoo Facilities program
Citation: South Carolina Code Section 44-34-60 and Section 16-17-700 (Tattooing), and S.C. Code Regulation 61-111 (Standards for Licensing Tattoo Facilities) (source). Primary source.
South Dakota
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor can be tattooed only if a parent or guardian signs a written consent form.
Written consent for adults: Shops must keep a patron record including a consent form for every client tattooed.
Records: Patron records, including consent forms, must be kept on file for at least two years.
Who regulates it: South Dakota Department of Health
Citation: S.D. Codified Laws 26-10-19; S.D. Admin. R. 44:12:01:15 (source). Primary source.
Tennessee
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Tennessee does not allow new decorative tattoos for minors even with parental consent. A minor age 16 or older may get a tattoo only to cover an existing tattoo, with written parent or guardian consent.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Citation: Tenn. Code Ann. 62-38-211 (source). Primary source.
Texas
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor cannot get a new tattoo with parental consent. The only exception is covering an existing offensive tattoo, and the parent or guardian must be physically present, sign an affidavit, and show identification and proof of guardianship.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found, though shops must keep a permanent record of each person tattooed.
Records: Shops must keep a permanent record of each client for a period set by department rule.
Who regulates it: Texas Department of State Health Services
Citation: Tex. Health and Safety Code 146.012, 146.0125, 146.013 (source). Primary source.
Utah
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor can be tattooed if a parent or guardian is present for the entire procedure, shows proof of identity and relationship, and signs written permission. Branding and scarification are never allowed on a minor.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Utah Department of Health and Human Services
Citation: Utah Code 76-10-2201; Utah Admin. Code R392-701 (source). Primary source.
Vermont
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A tattoo artist cannot tattoo a minor without the written consent of a parent or guardian.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Vermont Office of Professional Regulation
Citation: 26 V.S.A. 4102; Code of Vermont Rules 04-030-310 (source). Primary source.
Virginia
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor can be tattooed for hire if a parent or guardian is present, or when a licensed medical professional performs the tattoo as part of their duties. The statute does not set a separate minimum age for this exception.
Written consent for adults: Shops must have the client sign records, and a parent or guardian must also sign when a minor is involved.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Citation: Va. Code 18.2-371.3; 18VAC41-50-410 (source). Primary source.
Washington
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Washington does not allow parental consent to override the ban. No one under 18 may be tattooed, regardless of parent or guardian permission.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Washington State Department of Licensing
Citation: RCW 26.28.085 (source). Primary source.
West Virginia
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor can be tattooed if a parent or guardian gives written consent, executed in person at the studio at the time of the tattoo, before an artist or responsible studio staff member.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found, though the statute requires records for all patrons.
Records: Written consents and required records must be kept on file for five years.
Who regulates it: West Virginia licensing authority under W. Va. Code Chapter 16, Article 38 (state health agency oversight)
Citation: W. Va. Code 16-38-3 (source). Primary source.
Wisconsin
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: Wisconsin does not allow parental consent for a tattoo on a minor. The only exception is a tattoo performed by a physician as part of medical practice.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
Citation: Wis. Stat. 948.70; Wis. Admin. Code SPS 221 (source). Primary source.
Wyoming
Minimum age without a parent or guardian: 18
Minors: A minor can be tattooed only with the consent of a parent or legal guardian, who must be present at the time of the procedure.
Written consent for adults: Not specified in sources found.
Records: Not specified in sources found.
Who regulates it: Wyoming Department of Health
Citation: Wyo. Stat. Ann. 14-3-107 (source). Secondary source only.
How to use this in the shop
Put the consent form in front of every client, adult or minor, before the needle comes out, and keep it with the procedure record: the date, the artist, the placement, the inks and lot numbers where your state asks for them. If your state allows minors with consent, check the parent’s ID and, where the statute says so, have the form notarized before the appointment, not in the lobby. Keep everything at least as long as your state requires and longer if you can. In Turbo Link the signed form lives on the client record and exports with your data if you ever leave.
Questions people ask
Can a minor get a tattoo with parental consent?
It depends on the state. Some states ban tattooing anyone under 18 outright, with no parental exception. Others allow it with a parent or guardian present and a signed form, and a few require the consent to be notarized. The table on this page lists each state and links to the statute.
How long does a tattoo shop have to keep consent forms?
Where a state sets a period, two to seven years is the range we found, with some states setting no period at all in the sources we reviewed. Keeping every signed form for at least seven years covers every state rule we found and most statutes of limitation. Turbo Link stores every signed consent form on the client record indefinitely.
Do adults have to sign a consent form to get tattooed?
Most state statutes focus on minors and on sanitation, and leave the adult consent form to the licensing rules or to the shop. A signed release for every client is standard practice regardless, because it records the aftercare instructions, the medical disclosures, and the client's agreement to the design and placement.
What are the tattoo consent rules in Ohio?
A client under 18 can be tattooed only if a parent or guardian appears in person and signs the shop's consent document. Ohio Administrative Code 3701-9-04 requires a record of each body art procedure to be kept for at least two years. The Ohio Department of Health and local health districts regulate shops.